Sip in the Knowledge

Tasy Treats 1

By Stef Schwalb

Happy 2019! Ready to start the New Year off right? If you opted for a dry January or are looking to delve deeper into what you drink, now is the ideal time to get a hold of some killer cocktail books and learn more about what pleases your palate. A few are new, a few are old, but either way they are all enticing. So ready, set, let’s get reading…

For Movie Buffs Craving Behind-the-Scenes Content

Since it’s awards season for cinema, our first book – Turner Classic Movies: Movie Night Menus by André Darlington and Tenaya Darlington (Running Press) – is the perfect viewing companion. It shines the spotlight on 30 popular films ranging from the 1930s to the 1980s paired with signature drinks and dishes that are featured in, or are inspired by, each movie’s location and its stars. The book also includes entertaining tips, plus additional details on each film, dish and cocktail. This literary trip to some of Hollywood’s most memorable and beloved classics comes complete with enticing food photos and cool film stills, making it a great foundation for planning a dinner party, date night, and more.

For Fans of NYC History, Graphic Novels and One of the World’s Best Bars

Mention The Dead Rabbit and cocktail enthusiasts around the globe get giddy. As a two-time “World’s Best Bar” winner renowned for its cocktails and bar menus, you would assume the masters behind its creations would keep the secrets to their success under wraps. Well, you’ll be happy to know – you’re (ahem) dead wrong. With the release of their new graphic novel-style book, The Dead Rabbit: Mixology & Mayhem by Sean Muldoon, Jack McGarry, and Jillian Vose (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt), the authors detail the story of John Morrissey, the historical leader of NYC’s late 19th-century Dead Rabbits gang (as told via the hybrid man-rabbit anti-hero who channels him into the setting of the 1970s), as well as exclusive behind-the-bar insights into the world’s best cocktail menu. The tumultuous tale features graphic depictions, figurative and Tasty Treats 2literal, and includes 70 top pros from the bar and cocktail world as players in the journey. It also delves into the authors’ meticulous menu process covering 100 recipes in detail from the current series. The killer illustrations, combined with top-notch photography, and a story based on the bar’s unique style make for an exhilarating and singular read.

For Escaping the Cold or Just Indulging in Enjoyment

What reminds you of warmer seasons more than day drinking (responsibly) on a patio, near the beach or in your backyard? With colder temps taking over a good part of the country, Day Drinking: 50 Cocktails for a Mellow Buzz by Kat Odell (Workman) brings some much-need relief and distraction through delectable daytime drinks in the form low-alcohol cocktails. Light on booze but big on fun, the book provides options to imbibe for hot days and cold made up of a range of ingredients including beer, wine, cider, sake, and a range of spirits and liqueurs. Both classics drinks and reimagined versions are included along with mocktails and a bar guide on equipment, ingredients, and tools.

For Those Looking to Inspire Great Cocktail Conversations

If you have ever stopped to wonder about where your favorite spirits come from, a genealogy trip from garden to glass is something you’ll really want to drink in. And The Drunken Botanist: The Plants that Create the World’s Great Drinks by Amy Stewart (Algonquin Books of Chapel Hill) is your manual for it. This New York Times bestseller covers the ins and outs of everything you can imagine from the processes of fermentation and distillation covering spirits from around the globe; a range of nature’s best cocktail ingredients including herbs & spices, flowers, trees, fruits, nuts & seeds; and mixers and garnishes that make every concoction complete. More than 50 recipes and horticultural instructions are also included making it the perfect addition to every cocktail enthusiast’s knowledge base and bookcase.

A born and bred New Yorker, Stef Schwalb's love of everything culinary knows no bounds. She has written about food and beverages for several years, covering everything from how to make goat cheese to pairing oysters and Chablis. Schwalb is the senior content manager at Gregory White PR where she writes about enticing food and wine experiences at restaurants, bars & lounges, wineries and wine regions across the globe.

Check out our latest Edition!

 

Video

Contact Us

Food and Drink Magazine
150 N. Michigan Ave., Suite 900
Chicago, IL 60601

  312.676.1100
  312.676.1101

Click here for a full list of contacts.

Latest Edition

Spread The Love

Back To Top